Welcome to the Department of Political Science of Case Western Reserve University.

Please note that most of our courses do not have prerequisites. They are open to anyone, including transfer and first-year students. 

Our Department offers courses that explore political behavior, institutions of government, international relations and international finance, policy-making, and protest and revolution.  Our political science faculty employ a range of research methods and approaches, including elite interviewing, survey research, field and archival research, and comparative case study analysis.

The Department offers degree programs leading to the B.A.M.A., and Ph.D..

The political science major and its related coursework can build a foundation for many types of future employment or continued education. We highlight internship, scholarship, and career opportunities for students in our weekly newsletter.

We invite prospective students to review this webpage and to read the archived department Newsletters here. We encourage you to explore the Department’s webpages to learn about our plans, degree programs, courses, world-class faculty, and recent accomplishments.


Alumni Spotlight: Adam Younger

CWRU Alum Adam Younger (B.A. 2015) will graduate from the University of Virginia (UVA) Law School and thereafter join the Manhattan District Attorney’s Office as an ADA.

Congratulations to Cameron Tong

Congratulations to POSC Major Cameron Tong for his numerous achievements!

Professor Matt Lacombe awarded grant from Russell Sage Foundation

Professor Matt Lacombe and his co-author Boris Heersink were awarded a grant from the Russell Sage Foundation to investigate when and how unexpected political alliances form and when and why they develop into durable rather than short-term alliances.

Professor Matt Lacombe at MPSA

Professor Matt Lacombe and CWRU POSC graduate Neil O’Brian attended the Midwest Political Science Association conference this past weekend.

Spring 2023 Capstone Presentations

Congratulations to the students who presented their capstone research last night, April 19, 2023!

Meet with POSC Professor Zeren as Assistant Director for Student Experience

Bio: Aysegul Keskin Zeren, Ph.D. is a conflict resolution and non-violent communication specialist. Aysegul has been at CWRU since 2022, teaching conflict resolution and human rights courses as an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Political Science Department. She has over a decade-long experience in teaching courses and delivering trainings...

Department Office

Mather House 111

Scout Weber, Department Assistant

If you would like to notify our students of internship/job opportunities, please email scout.weber@case.edu.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Affiliated Sites